Six more stories of community leadership

A healthy community is a strong community. The six stories of community leadership announced today as part of the Victoria Community Leadership Awards all feature leaders who are making a difference to healthy lifestyles and places. 

We're happy to have the generous support of Storyteller Sponsor BC Transit in acknowledging these Award Recipients.

Read on for more information about these amazing and inspirational stories and people!

Victoria Community Leadership Awards celebrate the inspiring stories and successes of community leadership in Greater Victoria. These individuals and teams have been nominated by the general public and selected on the basis of the positive impact or change they have created through their leadership.

Community leaders come from all walks of life. They demonstrate a values-based approach, bring people together around a shared vision, build community assets with a collaborative approach, and make things happen that would not occur without their leadership.

BCTlogo_RGB_300dpi_tagline_blogsummary.jpgFrom small towns to large urban centres, BC Transit connects over 50 million customers in communities across the province every year. In the Victoria region, we carried over 25 million customers last year.

BC Transit’s vision is to connect people and communities to a more sustainable future. Public transit is part of a land use and transportation community plan. In partnership with communities, we promote walking, cycling and using transit.

These people are all community leaders doing innovative and inspiring work through collaboration. We are proud to celebrate their success in creating a more sustainable future for our communities.



The Community Leadership Stories in this week's feature are (click on the names to read their stories):


Erin Long


Gerald Harris


Graham Robertson and Beth Turner


Melanie Mahlman


Susan Simmons

WestshoreSookeParentAdvisoryGroup.jpg Westshore Sooke Parent Education and Support Group


These amazing community leaders, and 18 more like them, will be celebrated at a gala event on March 2 at Government House. Tickets are available for purchase now!