Sustainability and lifelong learning leadership award recipients revealed!

Greater Victoria is blessed with many community leaders who are dedicated to promoting sustainability and lifelong learning. We are excited to announce another six of our Victoria Community Leadership Awards recipients!

We're happy to have the generous support of Storyteller Sponsor Royal Roads University in acknowledging these Award Recipients.

Read on for more information about these amazing and inspirational stories and people!

Victoria Community Leadership Awards celebrate the inspiring stories and successes of community leadership in Greater Victoria. These individuals and teams have been nominated by the general public and selected on the basis of the positive impact or change they have created through their leadership.

Community leaders come from all walks of life. They demonstrate a values-based approach, bring people together around a shared vision, build community assets with a collaborative approach, and make things happen that would not occur without their leadership.


Since inception, Royal Roads University has developed a legacy of excellence in leadership and learning, challenging our students to apply what they learn to lead and make positive change in themselves, their work and their communities.

At Royal Roads our interdisciplinary approach to research, teaching and learning exposes our students to the best ideas from multiple and diverse perspectives and encourages them to develop unique solutions to our world’s most complex problems.

As these inspiring stories illustrate, a diversity of perspectives, experiences and skills build and strengthen a healthy society.

Royal Roads recognizes the positive impact these community leaders and groups have made and we are honoured to celebrate their contributions.

The Community Leadership Stories in this week's feature are (click on the names to read their stories):


Frances Litman


Greater Victoria Literacy Initiative Team


Paul Latour


Laurel Collins


David Broadland and Leslie Campbell


Shellie Gudgeon

These amazing community leaders, and 18 more like them, will be celebrated at a gala event on March 2 at Government House. Tickets are available for purchase now!